EV charger install permits in Concord, CA
General California guidance last updated May 22, 2026 · Concord data verified August 9, 2026
What electrical contractors need to know about pulling a ev charger install permit in Concord (Contra Costa County).
Short answer
In California, a hardwired Level 2 EV charger (EVSE) install needs an electrical permit because it adds a dedicated circuit and load — generally pulled by a licensed C-10 contractor under the California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3, Articles 625 and 220). Most California cities now offer streamlined or instant residential EV-charger permitting under SB 1222 / AB 1236.
Concord accepts submittal through the Virtual Permit Center (Accela Citizen Access) and has adopted the 2025 California Building Standards Code. Fee details and sources are below.
Concord permit data
Sourced from public City of Concord documents — every field carries the source URL and verification date.
- Permit portal
- Virtual Permit Center (Accela Citizen Access)
verified Aug 9, 2026 · source · The city's Permit Center page links the portal ("Permit Portal", available 24/7); the building-permit application instructions call it the Virtual Permit Center at https://aca-prod.accela.com/CONCORD
- Adopted code edition
2025 California Building Standards Code
verified Aug 9, 2026 · source · Listed on the city's currently-effective codes page alongside Concord Municipal Code Title 15 and Contra Costa County Fire Protection District amendments (2025 California Fire Code, 2025 Wildland-Urban Interface Code); the adoption ordinance and date are not stated on the page
- Fee schedule
- Building Permits fee schedule (T3a — Building Division Fees) — effective July 1, 2026 (Res. No. 26.6042.1)
verified Aug 9, 2026 · source · Concord's DocumentCenter URLs respond to GET requests only (HEAD returns 404)
The general picture in California
Adding a hardwired EV charger to a residence or workplace nearly always requires an electrical permit. The install adds a dedicated 240V circuit, typically requires a load calculation against the existing service, and may trigger a panel upgrade if the existing service can't carry the new load. California state law (AB 1236, then SB 1222) requires expedited residential EV-charger permitting — many cities issue same-day or via an online checklist. Plug-in Level 1 chargers using an existing 120V outlet generally don't require a permit; a new dedicated 120V or 240V circuit does.
For deeper background that isn't Concord-specific, see the statewide ev charger install guide.
Typically needs a permit
EV charger install itself triggers a permit in nearly every California jurisdiction, Concord included. Concord-specific variations are confirmed with the issuing department above.
Usually doesn't (general norm)
- Plugging a portable Level 1 charger into an existing, properly-rated receptacle with no new circuit
- Replacing one EVSE with another of the same output on the same existing circuit (verify locally — some cities still require a permit)
Documents & plans generally required
- Electrical permit application — residential EV applications are often a checkbox/streamlined form
- Contractor license and city business registration
- Site plan / location of the charger and the panel
- Load calculation — connected load vs. service capacity (NEC Article 220 + 625.42)
- Single-line diagram showing the new breaker, conductor size, and EVSE
- EVSE manufacturer cut sheet (UL listed; maximum output amps)
- Service-upgrade documentation if the load calc requires it
Common reasons ev charger install applications get bounced
Code-rooted patterns across California — not a Concord-specific rejection rate.
- Missing or incomplete load calculation showing the new EVSE within service capacity
- Conductor or breaker sizing not at 125% of the EVSE's continuous output
- GFCI protection not specified where required by the current code cycle
- EVSE not listed/labeled by a recognized testing lab, or cut sheet missing
- Outdoor location without a NEMA-rated enclosure or weather-resistant disconnect
- Service capacity exceeded without a panel upgrade or load-management device (EVEMS) shown
The inspection sequence
A typical order — the number of stops and exact sequence vary by jurisdiction and scope.
- 1Rough inspection if conduit/wiring is concealed before cover
- 2Service inspection only if the install includes a panel/service upgrade
- 3Final inspection with the EVSE installed, energized, and tested
Licensing — who can pull it
EV-charger installations in California are generally performed by a C-10 (Electrical) licensed contractor; a B (General Building) contractor may pull within a larger project under CSLB rules. The licensed contractor doing the work typically pulls the permit.
Other verified Concord notes
Building Permit Staff — Permit Center (Building D), 1950 Parkside Drive, MS/51, Concord, CA 94519; (925) 671-3107; Monday–Friday 8 AM–12 PM and 1–4 PM, closed City holidays.
verified Aug 9, 2026 · source
When adding the licensed contractor in the portal, the CSLB license record must carry a City of Concord business license number — otherwise a valid Concord business license must be obtained before the permit is issued.
verified Aug 9, 2026 · source
The Permit Portal is available 24/7 to apply for permits, check application and inspection status, and search permit history.
verified Aug 9, 2026 · source
Permit Pal (https://permitpal.cityofconcord.org/) is the city's self-service tool for zoning information, which permits a project requires, and permit-fee estimates before applying.
verified Aug 9, 2026 · source
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a permit for a Level 2 home EV charger in California?
Generally yes. A hardwired Level 2 EVSE adds a dedicated 240V circuit and is treated as new electrical work — California cities almost universally require a permit. State law (SB 1222) further requires expedited, often online, residential EV-charger permitting.
What about a plug-in Level 2 charger on an existing 240V outlet?
If the 240V receptacle is existing, properly rated for the load, and installed under the original permit, plugging in a portable EVSE usually doesn't trigger a new permit. Installing a new 240V receptacle for that purpose does — that is a new branch circuit.
Will I need a panel upgrade?
It depends on the load calculation. Many homes — especially older ones with 100A service — exceed capacity once an EV charger is added. Load-management devices (EVEMS) can sometimes avoid a panel upgrade by limiting EV draw when the rest of the house is using power.
Can the homeowner pull the permit?
California allows homeowners to perform certain work on their own primary residence, but the work must still meet code and be inspected. getPermit is built for licensed contractors — for owner-pulled permits, contact the city directly.
Other jobs in Concord
Want getPermit to map Concord in depth?
Join the waitlist with your city and trade. We prioritize the jurisdictions our early users actually work in — and we'll never invent fees or timelines we haven't verified.
Join the waitlist